Friends of Pātaka Inc AGM 2021 (Registered Charity number CC26074)

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2021 Held in the Helen Smith Meeting Room, Pātaka, Porirua Monday 19 April 2021

The meeting commenced at 7.35pm

Co-President Sue Mortlock welcomed all and then introduced the guest speakers Kate Montgomery, Creative New Zealand's Senior Community Arts Adviser, Visual Arts, and Charlotte McKay, Adviser, Stakeholder Relations. They spoke about CNZ priorities in Visual and Community Arts, and how we can best advocate for, and support the Arts in our City, to promote wellbeing, which is now a consideration over all aspects of NZ governance.

Co-President Sue suggested that those who wished to speak further with Kate and Charlotte were welcome to do so 'in the corner' as the meeting proper reconvened at 8.00pm.

Present:, Meryll Evans, Robyn Parker, Sue Mortlock, Kerry Scott, Gillian Dodson, Alan Dodson, Liz Rockel, Jenny Jacobs, Christine Healy, Lorna Kanavatoa, Carolyn Rait, Tom Kneebone, Paula Von Wijmen-Kneebone, Frances Austin, Pearl Freemantle and guests, Adrian Shields and Michael Bennington from Porirua Arts Council.

Apologies: <u>Jane Penny</u>, Jenny Shearer, Mark Hutchings, <u>Alicja Gear</u>, Barbara Beveridge, Barbara Marshall, Roger Joyce, <u>Emma Hercus</u>, Pauline Butler.

Note: Committee members for 2020/21 are underlined.

Minutes of 2020 AGM: Moved Meryll Evans, seconded by Gill Dodson

Matters Arising: None

Annual Report : The Co-President, Gillian Dodson read the Presidents report. Moved Gillian Dodson, seconded Paula Von Wijmen-Kneebone. The Annual Report was adopted.

Financial Report: The Treasurer, Christine Healy, spoke to the Financial Report and noted that the report had been made available on the Friends website and there were a few copies of the report available at the meeting. Christine acknowledged the valuable assistance that Gillian Cross from Cross Financial Services had given her. Financial Report moved Christine Healy, seconded Robyn Parker. The Financial Report was accepted with much acclaim for Christine.

Election of Officers: Co-President Sue announced that all members of the committee were standing again with herself and Gillian Dodson continuing as Co-Presidents, Christine Healy as Treasurer, Robyn Parker as Communications Coordinator, Liz Rockel as Secretary as Meryll Evans was standing down from the role but would remain on the committee. Sue nominated Roger Joyce as an ex-officio member of the committee as Webmaster, seconded Gill Dodson. There being no further nominations, Sue thanked the incoming committee.

Co Presidents: Gillian Dodson & Sue Mortlock

Secretary: Liz Rockel
Treasurer: Christine Healy
Communications: Robyn Parker

Committee: Jane Penny, Tony Cross, Kerry Jane Scott, Alan Dodson, Jenny Jacobs, Lorna Kanavatoa, Emma

Hercus, Meryll Evans, Alicja Gear

Appointment of Reviewer: Christine Healy nominated Cross Financial Services to conduct the financial review in 2021, seconded by Allan Dodson.

Other Business

Co-President Gill thanked outgoing Secretary Meryll for her long commitment to The Friends, awarded her a Life Membership and presented her with a beautiful bouquet. Meryll spoke of the very beginning of the Friends of Pātaka.

Member Tom Kneebone raised his concern that notice of the AGM had not been widely announced. As others had apparently not received the notice, Sue announced the financial membership contact information would be checked with the MailChimp mailing list.

Michael Bennington from the Porirua Arts Council gave an update on its submission to the Porirua City Council re advocating enhanced commitment to the arts practitioners in Porirua and asked if the Friends would like to join with this submission. Sue declined as the Friends of Pātaka's role was to support Pātaka.

There being no further business the meeting was closed at 8.35pm